Song(s) of the Week #31

Thirty Year Low and the bonus disc of outtakes, live performances etc. The Final Words of the Legendary Malcontent by the Mendoza Line.

A great driving album with songs about deception, broken hearts, ageing and acrimonious breakups from one of my all-time favourite bands.

Thirty Year Low etc. also features the oft-overlooked instrument, the cowbell, a crackin’ version of Cole Porter’s Anything Goes, a heart-wrenching rendition of Bruce Springsteen’s Tougher Than The Rest and a fabulous lyric, given my current location, in their track A Likely Nominee.

And I wish I could tell you dear
How much I dream of this election year
But you no longer want to hear
My thoughts on policy.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

