That Haircut

One summer, during university, I cut my hair very, very short. I had just seen Godard’s À Bout De Souffle and I was inspired. And it was easy to manage, barely needed any shampoo or conditioner and I felt a hundred times lighter being freed from my thick, heavy hair.

One day, while I was straightening Loony Tunes t-shirts during a shift at what I can only describe as a horrifically awful gift store (a part-time job) I listened as a mother and her young son exchange words, and then money. Son wanted a t-shirt and Mum was going to buy one for him. “Go give the young gentleman the money,” she told him, giving him a note. He took it and then approached me, a little hesitantly.

I felt myself go a little red, but not as red as Mum when she realised that well – despite my short hair – I was very much female.

“Oh, sorry,” she said hurriedly.

I kept the haircut for awhile but eventually let it grow out. More for the fact that it needed constant, regular upkeep and the income from my casual university jobs didn’t stretch to that.

In any case, here are some images showcasing Ms Seberg’s immutable gamine cool and the haircut which inspired mine.

(The first four from here, the fourth from here and the last from here)

Tags: , ,

One Comment to “That Haircut”

Leave a Reply

