The Hunt for Alice

It’s literally March (Hare) madness with the release of Tim Burton’s Alice in Wonderland.  As magazines all over the world go to town with Alice-inspired spreads, I decided to have a quick poke around my house to see what I could come up with.

Given Charles Lutwidge Dodgson’s wacky sensibilities, it wasn’t too hard to find things inspired by or inspiring elements of his tale.  Tea things – check.  Playing cards – check.  Potion bottles – check.  My household was also, surprisingly, well-stocked with white rabbits, though not of the kind I was hoping for.  I’d forgotten about the ban on Chinese milk goods a few years back which halted production of the White Rabbit lollies I’d grew up chewing.  However, I’m sure the Mad Hatter, March Hare and Dormouse would appreciate the puzzling nature of the Haw Flakes – edible discs made of the fruit of the Chinese Hawthorn – which I tossed in.

Results of my Hunt for Alice below.

The first ever film version of Alice in Wonderland (filmed in 1903) has recently been restored by the British Film Institute.

Leave a Reply

