Sunset

I was heading down the M1 towards the city the other day.  The weather had been tempestuous – the kind Melbourne is famed for; one minute pouring rain; the next, bright sunshine and holding it all together, a high, whipping wind.  The road was still wet but it was no longer raining as my car crested a hill late that afternoon.  And there in the distance, like the fabled city of Oz (excuse the pun), glistened Melbourne; its buildings reared out of the green grey mass of suburbia, backlit in orange and gold by the magnificent setting sun which had broken free of the dark clouds above.

It had not been long since I’d gotten back.  And I had been feeling quite disconnected from friends and family and their lives which have gurgled merrily along, gathering up partners, houses, children and more during the last seven years.  But in that moment, when I espied Melbourne’s gleaming spires, I thought, ‘yes!  I’m home!’ and was grateful and relieved to be in a place where I could feel such a sentiment.

Last week, my lecturer was waxing lyrical about a sunset she had recently seen, but added ‘but no one is ever interested in anyone else’s sunsets’.  She’s probably right.  But as long as we each have our own sunsets to dazzle and beguile ourselves with.

I didn’t take a photo that day because I was driving, but here’s one I took of a sunset at the South Rim of the Grand Canyon last year.  (Thanks, Poladroid!)

IMG_4417-pola

4 Comments to “Sunset”

  1. Beautiful picture, Ads. I noticed in one of your recent posts you said something about trying to create a vintage feel to your photographs. I’ve been thinking recently about how one thing digital technology has done is to remove certain tonal elements from the image. It’s a bit like taking an imperfect but 4 dimensional impression of an object and rendering it into a perfect 2 dimensional impression.
    We can see it better, but our other senses are somehow deprived.
    Does that make any sense? I don’t know.
    There seems to be something missing in the perfection of our digital images. Something textural.

    lovely pic anyway – it put me in mind of an exhibit I saw by Janet Cardiff & George Burghes Miller.
    M x

  2. Thanks, m’dear. You’re totally right, of course, about digital photography and its impact on our senses. It makes photography very easy (and very disposable) and is great for recording things as they are. But the photographer’s skill, art etc. can be quite unnecessary, or lost. Mind you, there are plenty of peeps who are extremely creative with their SLRs. And some still doing amazing things with their analogue cameras (and their photos look fab – check out the flickr.com group ‘I Shoot Film’). But I can’t knock digital technology as it has really opened up photography for me. I had never really gotten into photography before because of the inhibitive cost. Now, i’m actually considering getting an analogue camera… but we’ll see! x

    • Of course – I have a digital camera myself and it’s great. But there’s something happening to the image besides technical changes in the medium. I feel the need to talk about this at length…not here though.
      By the way, I started a blog of my own this very morning – I will send you deets when I can remember them.

Leave a Reply

